Home > Events, Industry Information > Interview on ANNCast 04-15-2010

Interview on ANNCast 04-15-2010

Just finished an interview with the Anime News Network’s ANNCast.

(Click here for the iTunes Link)

The topics were mostly about the state of the Anime industry and my research on said topic. I forgot how much fun it is to talk about the topic with English-speakers, and with people with similar (Western) aesthetic senses. I’ll be on high for the rest of the day, if not the week.

Three regrets though:


1. I forgot to ask if ANN would be willing to post some of my reports or papers on their site in the future. ANN has some really good columnists over there, and it looks like they are getting more every week. I just realized something the other day, but posting my theses on ANN would be a great way to get feedback from a Western perspective and to kind of get the word out on some of the trends I see coming out.

2. Just a little worried whether I said anything that would be covered by an NDA. I don’t think I did, but you always worry about those things after the fact – even if its irrational. (Weak Smile). We are such a small company that we can’t afford to alienate or piss of clients, let alone fend off lawsuits (even weaker smile.)

But then again, the more I think about it I’m pretty sure I didn’t say anything specific enough to alert anyone, and nothing even vaguely related to any projects covered in NDA’s at all.

3. Oh, but my biggest regret is that I forgot to mention the one project I WAS cleared to talk about: www.animaxis.com (!)

  1. April 15, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Thanks for coming on! We had a great time, and glad you did too. Hope it will be well-received.

  2. tokyogodfather
    April 16, 2010 at 3:22 am

    Thank you! Please call me back any time – it was a lot of fun!

  3. April 17, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Just finished listening to your interview on the AnnCast and I loved it. I went to the UCLA animation program, but I have a few friends from the USC animation program as well, and could totally understand what you were talking about. It’s incredibly inspiring to hear about your story, and all the obstacles and barriers you had to overcome just to be where you’re at now. So, best of luck on your Phd – Japan and the anime industry really needs more people like you!

    • tokyogodfather
      April 19, 2010 at 12:12 am

      Thank you Regis! And just so you know, here in Tokyo there’s no (more) rivalry between USC and UCLA – all the PAC10 schools have alumni events together. 😉 What are you doing these days?

  4. kiki
    April 18, 2010 at 9:43 am

    I truly enjoyed this weeks ANNcast!

    Just wondering, do you have your theses posted somewhere on this wordpress site? I would love to read them!

    • tokyogodfather
      April 19, 2010 at 12:14 am

      HI Kiki! Thank you! No, I don’t – I didn’t know if there was any interest. I will start posting them though if people are interested! I might do some later this week. I’m working on a powerpoint presentation about my current thesis, which combines Porter’s Competitive Strategy theory with Geoffrey Moore’s Chasm Theory, and applies it to the Anime business. 😉

  5. Chris
    April 18, 2010 at 10:18 am

    God! That was just such an awesome episode. Thank you so much truly fun episode and incredibly insightful. Unlike AnimeWorldOrder, I definitely care for the future of the Anime industry and what you’re doing over there is like heaven’s dews to my eyes. Really pleased to hear that there are people in there to try and rescue it. Please keep up the good work.

    Going to start reading your blog entries now.

    • tokyogodfather
      April 19, 2010 at 12:16 am

      Thanks Chris! I’m sorry to say that I don’t think my blog entries have been all that inspiring up until now – I didn’t really think anyone was interested in my real work or research. But I’ll start post tha tsuff now! Thanks guys!

      How are things over at Anime World Order? I used to listen to them – do they not care about the future of our industry anymore??

  6. April 18, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Also enjoyed your interview. Many interesting topics.

    One question I have, though: You said the desire is to take their biggest hits and commoditize them stateside. This seems illogical.
    A) You mention that a lot of money has already been invested in those properties, but surely much of that is in advertising to a domestic market that will be impossible to transfer to another culture.
    B) If you think about it rationally, the properties that were not the biggest hits must be more numerous, so squeezing significant extra money out of several of them, might be easier than squeezing enough out of a single big hit to really matter.
    C) Instead of worrying about what was a hit in Japan, you should probably be looking at what can make it in the foreign market based upon the tastes there.

    Anyways, it was great to hear about what you are doing. I’m quite envious, to tell you the truth.

  7. WiserTime
    April 19, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Great, great interview man. Sheds a completely new and never before seen light on the industry.

  8. April 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Just like to add my congratulations on a great podcast.

    It was very insightful, not to mention a little disturbing, namely with some of the ideas floating around over there.

    I can’t wrap my head around the fact that there exists, even a remote possibility of something like a Hannah Montana-style sci-fi/action moe show actually being made… (shudder) 😉

    I had a vague idea that the anime industry wasn’t doing well but I had no idea as to the scope and nature of the problems and how systemic they were.

    I was also surprised to learn just how influential the otaku market segment is. It seems that despite representing the minority of tastes, even amongst anime viewers, they are actually pretty effective in getting their kinds of shows produced.

    Looking forward to learning more from your research!

  9. April 19, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    HI Chi,

    Just finally got around to listening to the podcast – great stuff, brilliant insight. Would love to talk to you about a whole bunch of things at some point.

    Plus I just finished recording a podcast for http://www.anime3000.com with Brian Ruh where we just talk about Oshii – you might want to check it out, goes live in a few weeks I think.

    Are you on Twitter by any chance?

  10. April 21, 2010 at 7:09 am

    A killer “outsource anime” would be a new series of Firefly for SyFy and the Nine Network in Oz. Given the end of Serenity, a new crew member or two would be required, which could be the entry point for a bilingual English-Chinese voice actor.

    Of course, it might be re-importable with a Japanese dub.

  1. April 19, 2010 at 1:39 am

Leave a Reply

